Senior Honors

CMU-Q celebrates excellence at Senior Honors 2017

CMU-Q’s Senior Honors event celebrates the achievements in academics, research and leadership of the Class of 2017.

Selma Limam Mansar, associate dean for education, congratulated the students for their many accomplishments at CMU-Q: “Your hard work has helped to mold you, and these successes will help lay the groundwork for your careers.”

The ceremony began with the Dedication to Students’ Academic Excellence Award, conferred to a staff member who enhances the students’ learning experience. This year’s awardee was Preetha Gopinath, teaching assistant in information systems.


Preetha Gopinath

Preetha Gopinath receives the Dedication to Students’ Academic Excellence Award


Limam Mansar also recognized the Andrew Carnegie Society Scholar, Yousuf Akhlaq, selected to represent his class in service and leadership. Akhlaq is among four Qatar Campus Scholars—Qasim NadeemSafa Salim and Ibrahim Soltan—chosen for academic excellence, contributions to the community, volunteerism and student leadership.


Yousuf Akhlaq

Yousuf Akhlaq, Andrew Carnegie Scholar for 2017, receives his Student Senior Leadership Award


Students who earned University Honors, College Honors, Phi Kappa Phi and Phi Alpha Theta were called to the stage to receive their awards. In the Class of 2017, 53% have earned University Honors, and 14 graduates have earned College Honors.

Gloria Khoury, assistant dean of student affairs, presented the Senior Student Leadership Awards for those who made substantial contributions to the community during their time at Carnegie Mellon. She remarked: “Senior awardees, there’s a common thread that binds you, and it is that you have each consistently stepped up, faced challenges, persevered, and gone the distance throughout your time at CMU-Q.”

There were 13 students who received Senior Student Leadership Awards for 2017: Muhammad Yousuf Akhlaq, Maryam Rashed Al-Sulaiti, Aliaa Essameldin, Sirat Farhin, Sharjeel Mahmood Khan, Shahan Ali Memon, Nawal Rizwan Mir, Sherif Atef Rizk, Sanjeet Singh Sahni, Farjana Salahuddin, Safa Salim, Mounir Assem Sheikh and Ibrahim Soltan.

Read more about Graduation 2017