Algorithmic Trading Competition winners 2017

Algorithmic Trading Competition 2017 celebrates closing ceremony

The closing ceremony of the Carnegie Mellon University in Qatar (CMU-Q) Algorithmic Trading Competition was held at the Qatar Stock Exchange (QSE), with prizes going to the top three student teams. The competition brings together students from different disciplines to code a profitable and strategic program for trading in financial markets.

The competition was also sponsored by Mazaya Qatar, who provided 10,000 QR to the top team, 7,000 QR to the first runner up team, and 5,000 QR to the team with the most innovative strategy.

John O’Brien, associate dean of CMU-Q, noted: “Algorithmic trading is becoming very important in international markets, and competitions like this are excellent preparation for young finance professionals. I would like to thank our sponsors, Qatar Stock Exchange and Mazaya Qatar: without their support, this event would not be possible.”

There were 12 teams who participated in the competition. The first place team was comprised of Faran Farooq, Muhammad Ahmed Shah, Awais Shamim. The first runner up team included Kaustubh Iyer, Maher Khan and Bisma Munawar. The Most Innovative Strategy prize went to Yijun Dong, Alfred Godwin Ravindrakumar and Zihan Zhou.